Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 29, 2008, 1:30 AM   #1

I'm new to DSLR. I'm using the default lens (Canon EFS 18-55 mm) which came along with Canon XTi.

I would like to know what setting I should use when I want my picture to be full frame focus i.e. focus everything in the snapshot, not just a single 9-AF points.

Thanks,
Rama.
ramkip is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 29, 2008, 5:56 AM   #2

Getting EVERYTHING in the frame in focus may be difficult depending on how far away EVERYTHING is from your position. Do a google on depth of field (DOF) and read up a little. If the frame has subjects of greatly varying distance from you it may be tough to get them all in focus. If everything is the same distance it's not an issue.

It might help to understand what it is your trying to take a picture of.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2008, 9:18 AM   #3

Thanks for the response.

If I've 3 people in my frame and they are around 5m in distance what best setting should I go with so that I get a clear picture.

Old Oct 29, 2008, 9:27 AM   #4

ramkip wrote:
Quote:
Thanks for the response.

If I've 3 people in my frame and they are around 5m in distance what best setting should I go with so that I get a clear picture.
OK, first the long answer - the 'teach the person to fish' part:

depth of field refers to how much in front of and behind the point of focus will actually be in focus.

Depth of field for your camera is controlled by several factors:

1. Physical focal length of lens (not 35mm equivelant)

2. Aperture value used

3. Distance to subject