Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Dec 31, 2008, 4:00 PM   #1
PB3

Hi!

I am new to the SLR world and still trying to figure out how to work my XSI.

I was wondering what would be the best technique to capture a "panning shot", fast moving background and frozen subject.

I have the standard lens kit 18/55mm and a 55/250mm zoom lens. Would a specific setting like the "TV" mode help me to get the shot? I know shutter speed is probably a key in getting it just right too but not sure on how fast or slow would work best.

Thanks in advance for all the great help!
PB3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 31, 2008, 5:09 PM   #2

hi and welcome!
you are correct, the shutter speed is very important! i'm not familiar with the xsi but use your shutter mode. depending on your lighting ie. sunny, or indoors. slow it down to about 200 shutter and see how that works, then you can slow it down from there if you want more blurr. very important is the follow through, don't stop after you press the shutter keep following the subject, another important point is make sure you are focused on the area of the subject you want focused, i know its easier said than done, i shot some dragbikes and none were slower than 9 seconds, but it was fun!! sometimes i practice shooting the cars on the street in front of my house.

here is an example

airbrushjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2008, 5:38 PM   #3
PB3

WOW! Thats a great looking picture!

I am not too sure what mode would be "shutter mode" on my camera but the manual setting and "TV" setting let me adjust my shutter speed.

I think the "TV" is for adjusting mainly the shutter speed. Maybe someone familiar with the XSI will help out.

In all the advise of follow through and practicing on moveing cars is something I will for sure attended to!
Old Dec 31, 2008, 10:46 PM   #4
Super Moderator