Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jan 4, 2009, 4:04 PM   #1

I just received my new Canon Rebel xsi for Christmas and the images are not as sharp as my original 6.3 mp Rebel. The test shots were all in automatic but have tried different settings, with and without image stabilization etc. I took about 200 shots and nothing compares to my original rebel. I've enlarged and the 6.3 is still sharper. I feel silly but shouldn't the 12.2 be a much better quality than the 6.3? That's the reason for the upgrade. I've set the focus point to centre. Please help as the time is ticking when the store will take this as a return.Since testing this camera I read most of the posts on this site and see other people are having problems. Can anyone give me some pointers? Should I return the xsi and get the 40D? I'm not a pro (of course) but am doing this as a hobby and enjoy taking pics of my little kids. I have no complaints about my old Rebel at all and cannot understand why the quality of the picture is betterthan the xsi. Thank you.
vmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2009, 12:45 PM   #2

A pictures is worth a thousand words. And in your case, to SHOW us what's wrong with the focus, a picture is essential !!

What lens is it?

If you have the lens from your old Rebel, and can take a comparative shot with it against the new one, please show us a few of those.

If you have a optics test card, (or can download one, print on 8x10) and photograph that with (preferably) both lenses, one of our resident experts will give you the bottom line from what we can see from a jpeg.

Max

maxpixels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2009, 1:21 PM   #3

I'm not quite sure if I did this correctly, I haven't done this before.