Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Mar 8, 2009, 6:04 PM   #1

Hello all
Im just starting out with photography and cant wait to get started but theres just one little thing stopping me from getting started, I need a camera.
Ive heard lots about Nikon and Canon and that its good to get a camera that can have alot of lenses added to it as you get better.
I was just wondering if you guys can give me your views on the best DSLR for beginners please.
I want to photograph wildlife especially birds of prey and I want to take lots of landscape photos so I need one thats best for these.My budget is about £400.
Thanks very much in advance
Kind regards
Joe.
joeted is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 8, 2009, 7:44 PM   #2

Welcome! The people here are awesome and you will learn so much!

I have a Canon XTI and I love it, if you are in a hurry you can put it into Auto mode and it takes great pictures, when you have time to play and learn you can change it to Manual, Shutter or Aperture Priority. If you are like me, it will take a little while to get use to not having a display screen to look at when you take pictures, but you will still be able to review the pictures, check out the histogram and use the other menu options.

Also, take a look at http://www.flickr.com/cameras/
click on a camera, then click on a picture, then scroll down, on the right side of the page you will see, "More properties" (in blue) this is where you can learn what software the photographer used in post-processing and what his/her settings were to take the picture.

Also, http://digital-photography-school.com/ is a great website to learn new things. I love the tips & tutorials.

Good Luck

Waterwings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 10:13 PM   #3