Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 24, 2009, 6:54 PM   #1
Super Moderator

Default First Shots with 500D/T1i

As mentioned in another post I picked up a 500D yesterday mainly for shooting video and also it will replace my 30D as backup camera.

I mainly shot video today but also got a couple of stills.

The first is with Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 and Sigma 2x TC at 600mm.
The second is with Canon 24-105mm f4.

I'm currently uploading video and will add a link once it is complete.

If anyone has any questions about the 500D I will happily try to help but obviously I'm still new to this camera (I have 30D, 5D and 1D mkIII as well so used to the system).

Mark
Attached Images

Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 24, 2009, 7:34 PM   #2
Super Moderator

The video is up on YouTube but the HD hasn't finished encoding yet but it's time for me to get to bed. Hopefully soon the HD version will be on there for people to check out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFOrA4Ut4wM

I'm also uploading to Vimeo so people can pull down the full size file.
Old May 24, 2009, 8:10 PM   #3
Super Moderator

Vimeo is just encoding now so the full file can be downloaded.
http://www.vimeo.com/4817779

I know I was going to bed but you know what it is like when you get a new toy and want to sort everything out!!
Old May 25, 2009, 5:12 AM   #4
Super Moderator

Very cool Mark.

I've been playing a lot with the video on my 5DMkII.

Clearly you would have to do a lot of work to produce professional results, because all the pro-level features you get on a video camera are missing.

Definition is simply amazing when played back on a big screen. The one thing that is NOT missing is image quality!

Focus is tricky for sure however. I am finding that the AF really doesn't seem to be up to the job. It's quicker, easier and more accurate to use MF.