Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 21, 2009, 12:13 PM   #1

Default Manual setting on the Canon DSLR Rebel XS - why slow shutter?

I am getting to know my camera and finding that TV mode is really great, but I think I should be shooting on Manual most of the time, right?
Here is the issue I am having - when I am shooting with Manual mode, it takes forever for the shutter to go, leaving a picture that is blurred and over-exposed. I have changed the ISO speed to the fastest, but that doesn't seem to help. I am new to this photography game, but I do have some experience with camcorders and such.
Any help would be great,
Thanks
netrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 21, 2009, 12:55 PM   #2
Super Moderator

If you are using full manual then changing the ISO won't help at all, you need to change the shutter speed. In all honesty I rarely use full manual or even Tv but rather Av as this allows me to control the depth of field which is more often key then to ensure I'm getting a shutter speed as desired will play with the ISO. Times I use full manual are outdoor sports shooting where this not a lot of change in the lighting, indoor sports, flash photography indoors and studio work. I will use Tv when I need to bring the shutter speed down (Av is better for ensuring the highest shutter speed while getting a correct an exposure) such as motorsport to create motion blur and everything else is in Av.

So back to your question just change the shutter speed while in M, it should be the same as changing the shutter speed in Tv by rotating the main control dial between the shutter release and ISO button.

That's about it really.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 3:20 PM   #3

Thank you for that, I will give it a try. I was worried that the manual setting might have been broken because of the long shutter times.
Old Jun 21, 2009, 3:21 PM   #4
Super Moderator