Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 6, 2009, 9:53 PM   #1

Default Shutter durability and Exif data viewer

As a novice I am aware that shutters have a limited life, eg an EOS 5D has somewhere around 100K exposures. I am also told that Exif data held with images records the number of times that the camera shutter has been activated with each picture taken.

Being able to view this count therefore enables a good assessment of 'where a camera has been', so to speak.

But, and here is my issue, having tested a number of Exif viewers, with some really good ones out there (eg ExifPro!), I now realise that it is not clear what parameter I am looking for. Therefore, I cannot tell if the viewer lists this count.

If someone knows of a tool that lists this information for a Canon EOS 5D, and can tell me what parameter value I am looking for in the list displayed, I would really appreciate this input.
peterfisp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 7, 2009, 2:40 AM   #2
Super Moderator

I didn't think that such things were recorded in EXIF, it's the first I've heard of it.

Usually the best you can do is the autonumbering on the file name, which is not a reliable measure.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2009, 4:36 AM   #3

That is fair comment; however, I have input that suggests Exif data will record this fact. But I am still looking for input on how to read it, ie what to use and what to look for.
Old Jul 7, 2009, 6:59 AM   #4
NHL

peripatetic is correct - You can not determine shutter count from the EXIF as this info varies with the CF card inserted (or can be reset)

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=316454
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2009, 10:08 PM   #5

Default Shutter count on Canons