Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 7, 2009, 1:47 PM   #1

Default Have original Rebel, what would the lastest model give me over it?

I have the original Canon EOS Digital Rebel 300D camera that I bought when it came out. Never really did a lot with it, but now I am getting into photography with it (and Photoshop).

I was curious to see the progression of the Rebel to the latest and greatest model but am having trouble finding out what buying the latest model of it would provide me over what I have now. I have some lenses for the camera so I want to keep in the same family (or another family that accepts the lenses) if I upgrade. I'm no pro, but do want to have a very good prosumer camera.

Can anyone provide me any guidance or point me somewhere that could show me what the best current replacement is for this camera, and what more that would provide me (and if it's even worth doing I guess)?

I want to shoot in RAW, so improvements in this area would be of interest to me.

Thanks so much for you time.
mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 7, 2009, 7:48 PM   #2

You do not mention what Lenses you have.

The Original Rebel was 6 megapixel and though on an APC sensor things have gotten a little out of hand 6 megapixel does not leave you as much room to crop before resolution is too low.

The Original Rebel was crippled (though could be modded) I do not remember all the features.

I assume your asking about the T1i rather then XSi and XS which are still available.
All of the newer rebels shoot raw with full quality jpeg. All are faster and are more feature rich, lower noise, Higher ISO without noise, shoot faster. The Older Rebels really topped out ISO 400 before getting noisy. The newer ones easily go to 800 and beyond though noise picks up in low light.

If you read the reviews of newer models you will see reference to the prior ones as differences and such.