Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Mar 29, 2010, 11:52 AM   #1

Default Best HDSLR with image stabilization

Hey Guys - I haven't posted on the forum in a long while...

I have been using a Sony DSC-V3 for quite a few years. I am in need of a major upgrade. I want a dSLR. I've got my eye on the Canon T2i. Here is the issue. I have an essential tremor. Meaning, my hands shake. Nothing crazy like you see some people with Parkinson's, but noticeable. To give you an idea, when I use my Sony Camcorder with image stabilization there is no noticeable camera shake in the video footage. It works very well. However, when I use my Sony DSC-V3 (no image stabilization) my pictures often suffer if I don't use a tripod in low lighting. I know its my tremor because I can have someone else take the same shot and it will turn out fine. And yes, I know a tripod and a better flash will solve my problem, but that is not always practical.

So I'll get to the point. After some research, I realize the Canon T2i does not have built in image stabilization. However, there is some sort of image stabilization built in to most of the lenses. Also, I believe the Sony alpha has image stabilization built into the body of the camera. That might be the best option. I know from using the Sony camcorder that Sony has excellent image stabilization technology. However, I really llike the looks of the Canon T2i and would love to give it a try if the lens based image stabilization really does the job. Can you guys tell me what you think?
stallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 29, 2010, 12:04 PM   #2

the alpha's do not have HD video. But lens IS do out perform body is. But if you want HD in your dslr, the canon t2i is the best option as you can use it with an external mic. Which is a very good feature if you plan on focusing it as you shoot. And it is at full HD 1080.
Old Mar 29, 2010, 12:17 PM   #3

Quote: