Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Dec 2, 2003, 4:35 AM   #1

Default 300D vs 10D

Has anyone compared images of these two cameras? I'm new to photog but have a good eye and find the Rebel images look soft. Steve says same great pics can be had with Rebel as 10D yet Canon uses a slightly different CMOS. Thanks!
Sean
tenfourk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 2, 2003, 4:55 AM   #2
NHL

Actually the Digital Rebel if anything is slighly sharper than the 10D at the default setting:
Quote:
* After I completed writing the review I found out from Canon that the EOS 300D's sharpness is actually twice as powerful as the EOS 10D. You need to bear this in mind when comparing the samples below. When we re-shoot this comparison with a production camera we will use a set of +1, +1, +2 on the EOS 10D.
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos300d/page18.asp

Quote:
Spot the difference. Yes, it's almost impossible, the only noticeable difference is that the EOS 10D made a better job of automatic white balance. Apart from that color response, tonal response, resolution and sharpness are identical. This is hardly surprising as the EOS 300D uses the same sensor and image processing algorithms (or at least very very similar). Colors are good and about as true to the original scene as my eye can tell, resolution is very good as is sharpness and of course because these were taken at ISO 100 they have that trademark Canon CMOS 'silky smooth' noise free look.
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2003, 6:28 AM   #3

Default wow !

I'm surprisedat that, and can only conclude I'm dealing with a dirty Rebel, or crap lenses on it. I have the sharpness boosted all the way up on my rebel, too. Thanks for the input. Looks like I'll be saving $ 500 or looking for another camera. Does the Fui line, ot any other comparable , boast a sharper image?
Old Dec 2, 2003, 7:16 AM   #4
NHL