Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Dec 10, 2003, 9:26 AM   #1

Default Help on Exposure Comp on Rebel

Lets start by saying I am far from a professional when it comes to photography. I recently purchased a Canon Digital Rebel and love the camera. I am having one problem that is probably user error. Exposure Compensation does not seem to be working. I have been taking some test shots inside in low light and even when adjusting the EV up to +2 the exposure does not seem to change. I am making the changes while in either P – TV or Aperture mode. I even noticed it seems like when I stop of the EV the shutter speed and aperture are changing to justify for the exposure difference. I was always under the assumption that you could set the exposure up and it shouldn’t change the aperture and shutter settings, but make the picture brighter. Any suggestions or help would be appreciated. Thanks
sandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 10, 2003, 10:03 AM   #2

To review how to operate exposure compensation

With the Mode Dial set to P/Tv/Av, press and hold the shutter button 1/2 way to activate the displays. Then hold down the AV/Exposure Compensation button with your thumb as your turn the Main Dial to moe the marker on the exposure scale displayed in the viewfinder or LCD

- to darken, + to lighten

Assuming this is what you are doing to activate the exposure compensation, are you checking results in the LCD or after you download your pictures to the monitor or print them out? How about your histograms? Do they shift to the right when you increase exposure?

The aperature and/or shutter speeds should not change as a result of the exposure compensation, but will change as you compose your camera right up until you press the shutter if conditions change even slightly.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2003, 10:30 AM   #3