Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 26, 2010, 7:54 PM   #1

Default Canon 1D Mark IV and a Sekonic 758DR

Anyone out there use a Canon 1D Mark IV and a Sekonic 758DR in conjunction with one another?

What are the best uses? places? Do you recommend the Exposure Profile target? the lens hood? synchro cords with a 580x and MT-24EX.

Dont want to go pull the trigger on it without some input...

I am a macro photographer in the outdoors and in the macro studio (closet). I also am big into shooting wildlife and landscape.
cjglancy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 27, 2010, 2:47 AM   #2
Super Moderator

I doubt that there is anyone using that combo here. There are a few of us who have 1DmkIIIs but as I use mine for sports I'm not working with a light meter. I do have the entry level Sekonic but only used in the studio and very few others here have talked about using meters so not sure you will find out what you desire.

If you are into wildlife then the mkIV is a good option, but a huge amount of money for someone majorly shooting macro.

How much budget do you have, and what lenses are you using/looking at getting as there is no point going for such a good body then putting basic glass on it.

Have fun everyone!

See what I'm up to visit my Plymouth Wedding Photography
site or go to my blog.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 8:40 AM   #3

Mark, I love that you will put an answer out there... its appreciated.

I am a little sick when it comes to lens. this is what I am working with...

EF 24-70mm f/2.8L (when are they going to upgrade this lens!)
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS
EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro
EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II
EF 70-200mm f/2.8L II
TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II (used for architecture and some landscape... price paid still has not been recouped)
Old Jul 27, 2010, 2:26 PM   #4
Super Moderator