Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 3, 2010, 10:02 PM   #1

Default 1000d question

hey all, this weekend I was asked to take some pics at a wedding (just the guests as they arrived at the reception) and I was having a few problems with my camera. First off, I am a newbie so it absolutely could be me, and I am sorry if this doesn't make much sense.

Anyway, quite a few times my 1000d would just not take a pic. I don't recall any certain situations, but I could take 10 pics, then all of a sudden the camera would not take a pic. I would press the shutter 1/2 way, the camera would try to focus, full press and nothing. Release shutter, wait a second, try again, and same thing-nothing. IIRC, many times the camera would not find the right focus, and just would not take the pic. Luckily my wife was there with the bride's nikon for backup. But it is quite annoying to basically say "my camera is crap and won't take a pic right now"

Then 2 minutes later, it works fine again. My wife occasionally will grab my camera and take landscape pics now and then, and she says it happens to her too. She doesn't really know how to use it, and normally uses the auto settings. I will use the program or other settings when it happens to me. She has said if she shuts it off, or switches to a different mode, then back, it will work again. When it happens to me, it happens, then seems to work again without me doing anything to it. Different settings, different lenses, really nothing I can think of for repeatability.

I am wondering if it has a "safety" setting that won't allow a shot if the focus didn't work correctly? That is about the only thing I can think of.

Brew
tsbrewers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 3, 2010, 10:17 PM   #2