Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Dec 5, 2010, 11:43 PM   #1

Default T2i questions

ok so i am REALLY struggling on a replacement for my canon s5-is point and shoot. part of me wants to stay with the point and shoot and get the sx30-is, while the other part of me thinks a DSLR should be the way to go. i have never had one, but i hear good things about the t2i. whats the comparison in the 2 lenses? i really know nothing about the lens types etc. that come with a dslr....the lens it comes with, is it just a all around middle lens or something? does it have a good zoom? (comparable to the 35x zoom on the sx30-is) i like the feel of the dslr....a few friends have them i like the bigness....and they have a ton of functions....(most i have no idea what they are).............

or since im a noob to the dslr should i just stay with a point and shoot?
bryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 6, 2010, 3:13 AM   #2
Super Moderator

If you never buy one then you'll always be a noob. :-)

The SX30 has a zoom range equivalent of 24-840mm.

The standard kit lens of the T2i has a zoom range equivalent of 27-88mm. To add a telephoto lens that covers an equivalent telephoto you would need to spend $1,000+ just for a half-decent lens. This on top of the body + kit lens.

In other words the SX30 is incredibly good value if you fall into one of two camps:
1) Someone who loves long lenses, but doesn't have much money to spend on photography.
2) Someone who only very seldom has use for a long telephoto lens, but would nevertheless like to have it as an option and is willing to accept the limitations that go with a P&S camera.
Old Dec 6, 2010, 4:46 AM   #3

The T2i/550d is great camera as said it normally comes with a kit lens 18-55is. From this point you would have to add lenses or just a lens what do you take pictures of.