Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Dec 16, 2010, 8:31 PM   #1

Default Purchase Decision on Canon T2I from a Canon S5is

Hello Everyone,

Question for you all if you don't mind. I'm a system analyst and love gadgets and technology and am not afraid of learning how things work. In fact it's an obsession.

With that being said I currently own a Canon S5IS camera with a Speedlight 430ex flash but don't use it as much as I should. I have photographed family events and group photos and always end up being the designated photographer. Some family members seen the quality of photos on my S5is and since bought a XSi last year so now I use there equipment at weddings or anytime requested. At the end of the day I have to always give the equipment back so makes my S5IS not feel up to par when I do work with photos.

I'm considering buying a Canon T2I after boxing day when the sales hit with the 17-55 and 75-250mm zoom lens kit, I guess the one thing that still gets the best of me is how to adjust the f-stop values down and adjust shutter speed to blur backgrounds and take GREAT photos.

I would like to be great with a Digital SLR and realize they can be daunting to figure out, If I purchase one we are consdidering bringing in a photo company that also does day seminar's to teach specifically on digital SLR's so we can get a headstart on how to use them more effeciently etc.

My big question - Should I really buy a Digital SLR Canon T2i and get good with it, or does my current S5IS have as much features as I need for what I do and i'm just being greedy?

Thoughts are welcomed, I know they SLR's are great and take amazing photographs, I also have access to a 40D at work but haven't brought it home to play as I feel I would rather work on my own equipment instead.