Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jan 27, 2011, 2:57 PM   #1

Default New camera recommendations

I have been shooting and learning for the past 3.5 years with a Rebel Xti, and now am looking to upgrade. I have been looking at the 60D, 7D and 5DMK II (and now a see the MK III may be coming) . I have the kit 18-55 lens, the 55-250is, and the 50 f/1.8 for lenses. I am not too worried about the investment in those lenses. I am not sure if being an amateur I need to spend the extra to get into the 5d range - or if I would be better to buy a 7D/60D and spend the difference on better glass? Let me know what you think as I value many of the opinions shared here. Thanks for the help!

JW
jerwilhelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2011, 3:03 PM   #2

Just realized I probably should have put this in the "What Camera Should I Buy?" thread. Oops.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 3:17 PM   #3

There is no one-size-fits-all answer. What types of photography are you doing? What is it about your current gear that isn't meeting your needs? Those answers will help us determine whether investment in lenses or body (or something else) will be more beneficial.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 3:47 PM   #4

Sorry - I knew I needed to add that info but forgot!! I have mostly done outdoor/nature photography, but have been growing into portrait photography. I find the AF time is horrendous. It seams to hunt a lot. When around animals it is difficult to track with AF. I also really enjoy night photography and the ISO1600 max is limiting.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 4:16 PM   #5

I am curious to hear what John and others reply with but I too am thinking of an upgrade some time this year and am leaning toward a 7D right now.

So I do not own either of the three cameras but here are my thoughts based on everything I heard, read, and seen so far...