Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 3, 2011, 10:02 PM   #1

Default Settings for fireworks?

I have a Canon Rebel XS with basic lens. I was curious what setting, ISO and everything would be best for taking shots of the fireworks? This is my first year with a DSLR camera and any information would be great, thanks!
MissKay is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 3, 2011, 11:01 PM   #2

I'm not 100% sure on the settings to use but do use a tripod OR have your hand resting on something to have the camera as steady as possible. If you have a remote shutter as well, that would be beneficial. You'll also probably want to use Manual Mode rather than A/P/TV mode.

Canon 5D III
50mm 1.2 L l 24-70 F2.8 L l 70-200 F4 L l 40mm 2.8 l 100mmL 2.8 macro

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Alainn...39490172728282
http://alainnbellephotography.smugmug.com/
Shutterbug74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2011, 11:46 PM   #3

I just got home from fireworks and had good results with the settings below, culled from a combination of online sources. As previously suggested, a tripod and remote release are essential. If you don't have a remote, use the 2-second delay I'm hoping your XS has. I was using a T1i.

• ISO 100
  • Manual (M) mode
  • Aperture f/8 to f/13. Start in the middle, and adjust if the shots appear over- or under-exposed
  • Shutter on Bulb setting if you have a remote, or on 2 seconds if you don't. Again, play with longer and shorter times.
  • Zoomed out enough to include buildings of natural objects to give context.
  • If possible, position yourself upwind to avoid smoke drifting toward you.
  • If you have a remote and Bulb setting, start the exposure as soon as or just before (if you can tell) the burst, and end the exposure just as the burst begins to fade or drift. Experiment with holding the shutter open long enough to capture multiple bursts.