Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Sep 6, 2011, 11:46 PM   #1

Default "Good" zoom lens for portraits on a T1i

Greetings!

I have been trolling the forums for a few days now, and decided to join up! I am still a little new to photography, been doing it semi-seriously for about a year now. Just upgraded to a Rebel T1i, and looking to take it to the next level!

I am currently looking for a "Good" lens I can shoot portraits with, that also has a little zoom. I had a Rebel XSi with a Canon EF-S 18-135mm IS. I gave the XSi to my son who is also into photography, and kept the lens for now. Don't worry- I will make sure he has a decent lens to start out with . Anyhoo, been doin a little diggin and if I had to go with a prime my first choice would be a EF-S 60mm Macro. I do want to take the best pics possible, so if the gurus say stick with a prime that is what I will do!

That said, what I really want is a low power zoom for a little flexability. From what I have read, the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II (non-stabilized) seems to be a good chioce?! It's about the zoom range I was looking for, nice low light, and fairly sharp. And of course Good = in my price range . I don't have a hard figure on the budget for the lens, but prob $500 or less. I know it's not alot to work with, but it's all I can do for now...

In conclusion, if all you knowledgeable folks could help answer these Q's I'd very much appreciate it!!!

1) Get the 60mm prime and take the pics AMATURE

2) Get the Tamron 17-50mm, and may the photographic force be with you

3) While the Tamron is a good choice, I would reccomend...

Or something like that...

Thanks in advance, and YES- I do like Smileys. ALOT. You are all lucky this forum doesn't have too many to choose from or GOD HELP YOU ALL

~RebelYell~
~RebelYell~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 7, 2011, 8:18 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~RebelYell~ View Post