Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 7, 2011, 2:41 PM   #1

Default Upgrade or Not?

Hi Everyone,

I would appreciate feedback from anyone on this topic. I have been doing photography for some time now. Although I don't consider myself a pro I would say I am an advanced amateur. There have also been many courses I have taken to improve my skills. I feel comfortable with the advanced features of a DSLR. Currently I am using a T1i which I've had for a little under 2 yrs (21 months to be exact ).

Even though the T1i is well above your standard "point and shoot". I still feel like I want more from the camera. Now that I have a better understanding of all it can do (ie: manual shooting). I have been tossing around the idea of moving up to the 60D. For right now the 7D remains above my budget .

What are people’s feelings about that camera and if it's worth the move. I know the T3i is a very close match. But again that keeps me in the "consumer line". My plan was to make a step up (60D) and not be looking for another camera because I outgrew the T3i.

It would be the body only as I hope the 15-85mm lens will be next if I move up.

Thoughts or comments?
ttonnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 7, 2011, 4:40 PM   #2

What do you want to do that you can't with your T1i?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 5:09 PM   #3

Tcav & Others:

Typically I am shooting lanscapes, oudoor or nature. In addition to some architechure and vacation photos. Nothing high end or super professional. So, I guess it's fair to say the T1i does the job.

What prompted the thought about the upgrade was Canon is now on the T3i. Replaced the 50D and offers significant enhancements on these cameras. Because of that I feel like I am missing something. That in addition to the "fuller feel" of the bigger 60D.
Old Oct 7, 2011, 5:34 PM   #4