Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 11, 2011, 12:21 AM   #1

Default Wide Angle Lens?

Please forgive my lack of knowledge. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to DSLR's. I had just started to learn video camera terminology when my HD camera was dropped into a pool. So I went out and got a Canon Rebel T3i. For what I do I need a wide field of view lens. I tride searching but it's all greek to me. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. The price limit is about $500.
Micro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 11, 2011, 1:59 AM   #2

Hello!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wide-angle_lens

well basically wide angle means more subjects in the picture. t3i comes with 18mm which is pretty wide! Most digital cameras comes with built in 28mm lens.

This might be the best and funniest explanation i could find
http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=RE27-nT_wjs. You wont get any distortion with 18mm he's been talking about fisheye lens
idenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2011, 5:59 AM   #3

On a T3i, the Canon 18-55mm kit lens has a maximum angle of view of 74 20' (diagonally). What you're looking for is a lens that has a shorter focal length. Focal length is a measure of how much a lens bends light; the shorter the focal length of a lens, the more it bends light, and thus the wider its angle of view.

There are a number of good wide-angle and ultra-wide-angle lenses available, so you have lots of options. How much wider do you need than you can get with the 18-55. That is, what do you want to shoot? ... and how did you get it with your last camera?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2011, 4:25 PM   #4