Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Feb 1, 2004, 7:52 PM   #1

Default Canon vs. Quantray on D-rebel

I have been looking for an economical zoom lens for my D-rebel
I know that short of spending $1000 to $4000 for a quality lens from the canon or others pro lines I will have to be satisfied with less then the sharpest focusing lenses. Therefore I went out and took my camera to the local wolf store and took some pictures with a $230 canon 70-300 f4-5.6 zoom lll and a $130 Quantray 100-
300 f4.5-6.7 AF zoom . I took the images home and went and printed them and could find little difference between the canon and much cheaper quantray. also after sharpening the images in photoshop they for my taste were acceptable. By the way I am no pro but I have been involved in photograpy since the early 70's when I bought my first slr and do feel I can recognize a quality picture. I'll probably by the Quantray unless someone knows something about either lens or some other lens that might help
me decide
Geno
genohc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 1, 2004, 10:31 PM   #2

I think you answered your own question when you demoed both side by side. Nothing better than personal observations.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2004, 10:47 PM   #3

As far as I can tell, Canon doesn't make a 70-300, they make a 75-300. If that is what you meant, I thought I'd add that it is a really, really bad lens. It only gets a 2.8 out of 5 on one review site, and on another the general opinion was that it was very soft in the 200-300 range. Also, the build quality wasn't that good.

I've never used it, so I can't say from personal experience.

I agree with ohenry. If the Quantray is good enough, after you tried it... then use it.