Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Feb 3, 2004, 10:33 AM   #1

Default Welcome to the World of EOS!

Since I am NEW to the EOS system - May 2003 - switched over from the FD system - I have noted 2 things. Battery life is quite different.
(I photograph a LOT of Moving Trains, so the DSLR was a welcome addition)
#1. On 2 different occasions while I had my 300D & lens on the tripod set up waiting on a particular train ( battery was showing Low) just as it gets into view in my lens - I fired off 2 shots, then - DEAD!
#2. I was taking some still shots of a Brand New Fire truck with my EOS-3 - I had noticed a "different" sound when the film advanced previously. All of a sudden - DEAD.
I bought a spare battery with the DRebel. Still when that happens & you have no backup Digital - you switch to your Film camera & keep up what you were doing. I guess the EOS-3 needs to be turned "Off" when it is in the case. And the battery checked periodically.
I NEVER once had this Problem when I was shooting my Canon FD stuff. When out shooting pix, the Camera(s) were ALWAYS 'ON' & so were the Motor Drives. I only changed batteries in the F-1's about every 2 years & same for the Motor drives. Makes me wonder if I should have held on to 1 FD Body & 1 FD lens!?
Oh well . . . . Live & learn.
Railfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 3, 2004, 11:14 AM   #2
NHL

... the difference is autofocus as well as all thoses processors:

The photographer provides handpower to the focusing ring with FD lenses. The EOS EF lenses rely on batteries to spin the AF, plus with digital cameras the image processing draws power as well (with the electro-mechanical shutter staying the same)... Oh did I mention image stabilization (IS)? That's another high speed circuit as well?