Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Feb 15, 2004, 1:56 AM   #1

Default A few questions and concerns about the Digtal Rebel

First of all, notice that I'm not a newbie. I've been on this forum for a year and a half; I've been using digital cameras for about that long, and have years of experience with film before that. Ergo, this is not one of those "which camera should I buy?" posts...

I am considering getting a Digital Rebel (whether or not I get a new camera will ultimately be determined by how much I can get for selling my current equipment, but that's beside the point). I currently use a Sony F717. While it's a pretty good camera, it's very limiting as to what can be done in post processing, because of the noise. It's not a problem in an unedited ISO 100 photo, but once I start adjusting the levels to get the color and contrast I want, the noise becomes apparent. The noise is horrible above ISO 100, though, to the point that I rarely use these speeds. I love the noise-free images I've seen from the Canon digital SLRs, and I would also like to get back to SLR photography.

I have a Rebel 2000 film SLR with a Canon 28-80mm lens (which I want to sell), and a Tamron 28-200mm XR lens. I'd want to keep this lens to use on the D Rebel. Does anyone have any experience with this lens on the D Rebel, or know of someone who does? I think I will get the 18-55mm kit lens as well, because the 28-200 will act like 45-320, and 45 is too narrow a "wide" end for me. It seems most people are generally satisfied with the quality of the kit lens. Does anyone have any specific complaints about it?