Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Feb 26, 2004, 10:39 AM   #1

Default Is the Canon 10D too heavy to drag around for days at a time

If you are a Canon 10D owner/user, I would like your opinion for my peculier problem. I am an airline pilot and currently use a Nikon Coolpix 880 - 'bout 3 years old with only a 3x optical zoom. I am willing to spend the money for a "grow into" system and have decided the Canon 10d is the one. HOWEVER..... one of my principal uses for the camera is to take airborne photos while flying ..... if you have ever seen San Diego from 5,000 ft in the big turn back to the North, or the LA basin on a clear day ... well you get the idea. Here's the rub: my coolpix is small and compact but lacks the optical zoom. In the airline business one must be compact and light - dragging heavy bags thru airports, on and off hotel vans..onto shuttle buses for the employee parking lots is the worst part of the job! So picture hauling your Canon 10D around for 2 to 5 days at a time. It has to go into an already existing bag. If I had a "universal" lens, i.e. 28-200 - would that be too big and bulky? Should I just be content with a point & shoot like the new 7x optical Canon has announced at the Feb. photo show? I am only an amateur photog and I might buy the 10D anyway - but would I eventually get tired of lugging it around if it were my principal "airline" camera. I have about a year and a half before they make me retire and there are only so many times I'm going to see the Rockies and downtown Chicago on clear days, so I need to make my decision soon. Since you can't find a 10D in a store, it's impossible to gauge the weight/bulk with a "big" zoom lens attached. If you have experience with the 10D, please give me your opinion. :!: Maybe the 10D is not the right camera? Please feel to send me your opinion as well to my email: [email protected] Thanks everybody Airbus Mike

=yellow][/color]