Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Mar 1, 2004, 1:31 PM   #1

Default Questions about Exif and my new Canon 70-200mm F4 L lens

Hi,

I have a few newby-esque questions about my new camera and lens. I'm new to the SLR world, and this is the first lens I've purchased (aside from the one that came with the lens). I debated about getting a f2.8 lens for a long time, but the extra expense and weight of the thing made me want to try the f4 instead.

Even so, this new lens is significantly larger and heavier than the one that came with the DRebel. If I choose to use a tripod or monopod, do I just attach it to the bottom of the camera? The lens seems kind of heavy for that. Also, with this lens, I've been handling the camera by the lens - the whole mass of the thing has changed. Will this stress the mount at all? (are these stupid questions???)

I take lots of pictures of horses, in the pasture, in indoor arenas, and at small local shows, so it's more sports-like shooting than anything else. When I had my G3, I noticed that I got a lot of dust in the lens - you know, from the dusty conditions. Do you have any advice for avoiding that? I'd like to keep my new L lens in good condition.

In April I'm planning to take my new camera along to Kentucky for the Rolex Three Day Eventing show. If any of you have any tips, I'd love to hear them!

Also, this is maybe a very silly question...I feel like everyone knows this but me! How do I view the Exif data for my photos once I get them on my PC? Is there some little program that I should use, or will Photoshop show me this info? (I've been digital for years, with my little Canon Elph, but with the point and shoot camera, I never cared about exif data.)

Also, I want to thank all of you knowledgable folks on this forum. I've been reading for a while now, and have relied heavily on you for advice on my purchases. Thanks for sharing!

Kristine