Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Mar 18, 2004, 5:53 PM   #1
kvk

Default Is a used D60 a good way to go?

I'm looking for my first DSLR. I'm not a pro. I been pulling my hair out tring to decide on where to go. The 10D is really out of my price range. The DR look like a good camera but I'm afraid that I might get where I wished that I had some of the missing features. The d70 looks good also but I'm a little worried about the picture quality and I like taking night long exposure shots. I don't want to wait on the noise reduction . So whats wrong with a used D60. I don't hear much about it.

Ken
kvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 18, 2004, 7:35 PM   #2

Not many things. The D60 is not a bad camera, it's just that the 10D is so much of a better camera that is overshadows it.

Two thoughts:

1) The D60 had focusing problems in some situations. The problem is that I don't know what situations as I don't have one and I didn't research it when I got my 10D. This might be a deal breaker for you, or a non-issue. All depends on when.

2) digital noise. One thing that is almost always true is that newer sensors produce less noise than older ones at higher IOSs. Make sure that the noise levels of the D60 are acceptable for you.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2004, 8:03 PM   #3

*looks at his sig*
Uhm, The D30/D60's have good noise reduction; there is a focusing issue in low light situations. Not 100% sure on that one because it varies from person from person; I'm sure theres a tradeoff with how you use the camera as well.

The best thing a consumer can do in the case of such a monumental purchase would be to do the research and decide on your own.

I'd base my decision from a combination of what 3 or 4 different sites say.
huckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2004, 9:00 PM   #4