Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Feb 1, 2017, 10:00 AM   #1

Default Simplified Manual Settings

I am new to Digital SLR and am dismayed at the difficulty in using my Canon EOS 70D.
I used a Pentax 35mm film SLR for years and enjoyed the ease in adjusting shutter speed and f-stop adjustments.
Using my Canon D-SLR, I have to search for adjustments, using their recommended method. Their menu is huge with innumerable options.
Is there a Digital SLR out there that utilizes something akin to the old 35mm SLR style of manual settings for shutter speed and f-stop?
I'm nearly 70 years old and simply don't have the energy nor the time to depend on "years of hands on experience." 😞 thnx

Last edited by Rob76365; Feb 1, 2017 at 10:05 AM. Reason: Misspelling
Rob76365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 1, 2017, 5:51 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob76365 View Post
I am new to Digital SLR and am dismayed at the difficulty in using my Canon EOS 70D. I used a Pentax 35mm film SLR for years and enjoyed the ease in adjusting shutter speed and f-stop adjustments.

Using my Canon D-SLR, I have to search for adjustments, using their recommended method. Their menu is huge with innumerable options. Is there a Digital SLR out there that utilizes something akin to the old 35mm SLR style of manual settings for shutter speed and f-stop?

I'm nearly 70 years old and simply don't have the energy nor the time to depend on "years of hands on experience." 😞 thnx
G'day Rob

Firstly - Welcome to Steve's photo forum ... you'll find heaps of like-minded people here and most will have heaps of info to offer you to help you along the way

As to your current issues -
Back in film camera days, you would have chosen "A" mode or "S" mode depending on the subject, and then let the camera choose the appropriate shutter speed or aperture and away you went