Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Apr 13, 2004, 7:18 PM   #1

Default What to get DRebel 10D .....D70 hmmm

I am new to Digital SLR but not digital or SLR if you see what I mean. My subjects will be the usual shots of the kids in action and portrait plus an interest in architecture, lanscape and ultimately low light structures (building sites)

Well my thinking has changed since reading reviews and trying all three super cameras.

1) Drebel with kit lens (Silver) plus Canon 28-135 IS USM lens plus Canon EF50mm Mk II plus EF550 Flash and maybe some cash left over for editing software.

2) Canon 10D (a Dream?) plus Canon 28-135 IS USM lens plus Canon EF50mm Mk II 3rd party flash no money left!

3) Nikon D70 plus kit lens (not my favourite but beautifully made) with Nikon 50mm f1.8 and SB800 flash.

I think the first option is best as it is well within budget and allows more investment in lenses and flash. The Drebel would be enough to learn the ropes on and leave me an upgrade path to 10D or replacement as and when I out grow thr DRebel. My reason for the D70 is that it is so good to hold and offers so much to play with for a good price.... its just the images it produces are not to my eyes liking.

Any comments on my thinking or alternatives would be most welcome.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 13, 2004, 7:39 PM   #2