Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 9, 2004, 7:15 PM   #1

How do I control the depth of field when using the flash?
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 9, 2004, 11:41 PM   #2
NHL

Can't you put the camera in the Av mode and increase the aperture?

What camera are we talking about? With most EOS, if the flash is on E-TTL putting the camera on manual will let you set both the aperture and shutter...

The problem is usually do you have enough power output on a single flash to cover the entire DOF, or you have to use multiple units
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2004, 8:36 AM   #3

I don't know if we are talking about the same thing or not. I am still learning my camera, but I was taking my first shots the other night in program mode with the flash. Nothing fancy, just snapshots to try it out. Well almost everything came out either out of focus, where the camera had focused on a building 100 yards behind my subject, or underexposed. I was shooting RAW at 100.

Like I said they weren't supposed to be anything but tests, but I think out of the 7 shots one was exposed correctly. I used C1Rebel to work with them.

Any ideas, or do I just need to practice more? Maybe change the focus points???
FSUScotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2004, 8:47 AM   #4
NHL

FSUScotsman wrote:
Quote:
... where the camera had focused on a building 100 yards behind my subject, or underexposed. I was shooting RAW at 100.
This is way too far for the built-in flash! With a more powerful 420EX flash (with a Guide Number of 42), the farthest coverage is still only 10m @ f/4 :sad:
Old May 10, 2004, 8:50 AM   #5

Oh no!!! I was trying to get the building!!! The subjects were about 10 feet away, but the camera STILL focused on the building. It had a couple of neon lights and I wondered if it picked up on them.
Old May 10, 2004, 9:00 AM   #6
NHL

FSUScotsman wrote:
Quote: