Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 21, 2004, 2:09 PM   #1

I'm an amateur photographer who is hoping to really start diving into the ins and outs of the photo world now that I finally got my 300D the other day. My first step is trying to figure out the best method of working with my photos.

Here's what I have to work with other than my camera and Canon's software:
  • Windows XP: Home Edition [/*]
  • Photoshop Elements 2.0 (I have CS at work, but I can't afford a copy for home) [/*]
  • Adobe Photoshop Album 2.0
This is what I've figured out so far:
[/*]
  1. When I'm going to download my pixs from the camera I use XP's Scanner & Camera Wizard.
    This allows me to create and select the folder to download the images into & (and here's the key) it allows me to quickly rename the photos by adding a date prefix to them. [/*]
  2. Once on my computer I import them into Album and tag all the images so I can easily find them at a later date.
    This program also allows me to edit the photos using Elements, creating a copy and then an edited version so I always have a copy of the original. [/*]
  3. I figure that every month or so I can make a contact sheet and burn the originals on a CD so I always have the "negatives."[/*]
This is all well and good, and I'm pretty happy with this system. Especially since most of the photos I take will be taken in a setting where I really don't need to advantages of the 300D's RAW files.

But here's the thing, I'm not sure what to do with the RAW files when I do take them. Since no Adobe programs other than the expensive Photoshop CS work with the 300D's RAW files, I believe that in order to do anything with any RAW files I have to use Canon's clunky File Viewer Utility first to convert it into a TIF. It's only at that point that I can do anything in Elements or import it into Album.