Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 16, 2004, 12:44 PM   #1

I recently aquired a Canon 10D. I am new to this color space stuff and was wondering what is the best way to go?

I have been told to use AdobeRGB in Photoshop. Is this a good setting for photography purposes?

I am assuming that you should match your camera and PS settings...

Any explanation and suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Zendragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 16, 2004, 3:05 PM   #2

I know a bit about this, but I am certainly no expert.

Do you know what a colorpsace is? If not read here:

http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/Glos..._Spaces_01.htm

This says it way better (and with pictures!) than I ever could. I'll wait while you read it... ("Ohhh.... sitting on the dock of the bay, watch the tide roll away..." Gotta sing Otis while your waiting.)

So now that you understand color spaces, the question becomes what color space to use. AdobeRGB isn't a bad one. The big downside that I know of is that when you convert from AdobeRGB to sRGB (which you'll need to do when posting on the web) you'll loose some contrast. So you'll probably have to bump the contrast after you convert it, or they will look kinda flat.

Anyone know of any other downsides?

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2004, 4:24 PM   #3

eric s wrote:
Quote:
I know a bit about this, but I am certainly no expert.

Do you know what a colorpsace is? If not read here:

http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/Glos..._Spaces_01.htm

This says it way better (and with pictures!) than I ever could. I'll wait while you read it... ("Ohhh.... sitting on the dock of the bay, watch the tide roll away..." Gotta sing Otis while your waiting.)