Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 30, 2004, 10:50 AM   #1

What are some settings to get good shots of people. I have the DRebel, 5000dg flash. I havethe Tamron 28-70, Canon 50mm f1.8, and the kit lense. What are your suggestions for photos of people. How do you get flattering pictures? Do you use bonce flash often?

Thanks for the info
iblaineman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 30, 2004, 4:43 PM   #2

If you can get Kalypsoor Frank Doorhofto answer your question, you're in good hands. They both do some very good shots of people.

My guess is that bound flash is almost always require. Probably with an umbrella. The focal lengths that you list seem reasonabl for portrate work.

Beyond that, I have no experience.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2004, 6:00 PM   #3

If you're going to rely on a single flash unit to provide the lighting for you subjects, invest in an inexpensive Lumedyne Bounce System. It will provide a softer bounce light and minimize the harsh shadows of direct lighting.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2004, 9:46 PM   #4

You could always use fill flash depending upon the circumstances. Bounce is great, but it all depends upon the indoor ceiling colour, distance, etc..

Use some sort of diffuser on your flash. You can make one easily by cutting out white cardboard and using an elastic to attach to the flash. Cheapest solution, and it works great. You then move the flash head up at an angle so the light bounces off the cardboard stock onto your subjects. You can buy one as well...lots of options here.