Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 11, 2004, 8:04 PM   #1

I've got the Rebel out for a 30 day try. Took some pictures this weekend at a family reunion and noticed the following (is this the camera or something I've done). BTW - I have used mechanical slrs for years - this is my first try with a digital.

Took 77 pictures -- this morning I downloaded them to my computer using the computer's card reader. Software is HP brandthat came with my hp PSC 1350xi printer.

I noticed these two major problems:

First, the flash exposure seemed to be off onmany (if not all)of the flash pictures. These were taken using full auto or full auto portrait; all at highest resolution. They were either over-exposed or under-exposed but all gave the skin tones a strong red tint. I'm learning how to use the camera but my wife will use it primarily as a simple point and shoot. Are a lot of twicks needed - if so - this may not be the camera for her.

Second, I find this very troubling. I used the hp software to try to adjust and correct some problems. Often I was pretty successful - Less so with the red tint. I cropped three of the photos (this is a 6 mp shot at highest resolution). The crop usedapproximately one third of the picture. AFTER the crop - especially with a light background - there are evenly spaced horizontal lines running through the picture. I test printed one and the lines were still there.

Bum Camera, Bum Photographer; Bum Software; all or anyof the above-- any ideas.

I would really appreciate your input.
RonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 11, 2004, 10:33 PM   #2