Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 12, 2004, 9:11 PM   #1

I'm a little new to this. For the first time, I experimented with the RAW capability with my new DRebel. Does anybody have any advice on the best method to transfer your RAW images unto your computer and retain the best quality? I will be using Photoshop CS to edit.

If someone has a link to a tutorial that would be great help.

Thanks

Sabertooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 12, 2004, 9:39 PM   #2

I'm assuming you're on a PC. To transfer the files, just go into My Computer and go to the drive where you got your camera or card reader. Highlight the files and copy them. Go to a folder on your hard drive where youwant them to beand paste them there. Photoshop CS will open the RAW files (assuming they are the same as a 10D, which I'm sure they are). It gives a dialog box where you can adjust the color balance, contrast, saturation, exposure, etc. I personally then save them as Photoshop files to retain quality.
Conquest10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2004, 10:26 PM   #3

Conquest10, I tried the instructions that you gave, but it gave me

Error copying File or F....

Access is denied.

I also tried to use the Canon Digital Camera File Viewer Utility, but it told me:

No application to transfer image has been specified.

I must be missing the boat on something. I'm new to this so please excuse my ignorance.

Old Jul 13, 2004, 12:27 PM   #4

Sabertooth, hwo are you transferring the file from your CF card. Are you using a CF card reader hooked to your PC or you have hooked up the camera directly to your PC. In both cases, you should see your CF card as a hard drive under windows explorer. Then it is just a matter of copying files from CF card to local hard drive. RAW files are just files like jpef files, as far as copying them is concerned.

I am using C1 (demo addition) to process my 10D raw files.