Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 22, 2004, 7:36 PM   #1

I will be getting a 20D, but I have some questions. I am new to SLR's so I dont know much about lenses yet. I will mainly focus on landscape and nature photographs. Is there an all-around decent lens for this? If there is more then one decent one,what are all the choices? I do plan on making a business out of this so I am willing to spend a bit, but not too much. Are the kit lenses any good, theres 3 right? Also, about the camera itself, I am extremely worried about an extended warranty. I think I might need one, but is MACK the only choice, and are they trustable? Can I get an extended warranty directly from Canon? Thats it for now. I'm sure I'll have more questions soon.

Thank You
Bladestorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 22, 2004, 8:37 PM   #2

For landscapes, I would look hard at the Canon 17-40 f/4L lens. You'll have to define what you mean by"nature" before I could recommend a lens.

The kit lenses are ok for consumer camera use. If you plan on doing photography for business, they will probably not suffice. If you plan on making money on photography, skimping on your lenses to save a few bucks is the wrong thing to do.

I don't care for extended warranties, know nothing about MACK, butpretty surethat Canon doesn't offer an extended warranty directly.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2004, 8:47 PM   #3

Sorry, by nature i mean wildlife.
Old Aug 22, 2004, 9:30 PM   #4

First off its a 20D not a D20 ... The D preceding the model number imples Nikon gear. Semantics.. I know ...but it drives me crazy when people can't get the camera model right.

And I agree with Ohenry on the lens choice. Especially if you intend on using it to generate revenue. You can find other cheaper lenses, however you will want something durable with a life span.
mrkryz is offline   Reply With Quote