Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 6, 2002, 6:31 PM   #1

Default Canon Image Sharpness

I have both a Canon Pro 90 and an EOS D-60 so I suppose this question could apply to both. Let's take the D-60 since that's now my #1 rig.

Re the Quality Selection menu (page 50 of the Instruction Manual) , I'd like to know the suggested applications for:
RAW (3072 x 2048)
Large/Fine (3072 x 2048)
Large/Normal (3072 x 2048)
Medium/Fine (2048 x 1360)
Medium/Normal (2048 x 1360)
Small/Fine (1536 x 1024)
Small/Normal (1536 x 1024)

I do mainly nature and landscape work...including macro applications. As a published freelance writer, I sometimes try to illustrate my articles.

On today's shoot at the local botanical garden, I used the usual tripod and Canon Timer Remote Controller TC-80N3 setup. On my SanDisk 120MB card I get 172 images, so I'm using the Medium/Normal setting (0.7MD image size). I try to minimize wind effect with the macros (using the Canon 100mm Macro f/2.8 lens). But I'm dissatisfied with the image sharpness on my computer monitor.

Wind aside, would moving up the Quality Selection ladder improve sharpness...and how far should I go, given the foregoing? How does the low/high compression ratio factor in here?

Sorry to be wordy here but any meaningful assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

M i k e
shamrock838 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 16, 2002, 2:33 AM   #2

Hi Mike,