Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Sep 28, 2004, 5:05 AM   #1

I was wondering if anyone has much experience with the DRebels "A-Dep" mode and if so under what circumstances.

Does it keep with a constant minimum shutter speed (eg. nothing slower than ##) or does it do whatever it takes to get max DOF no matter how slow the shutter? Is focal length a factor?

I am an AV tech and at some of the events I do I would like to get some photos of people both candid and posed. Not meant to be great portraits but more like snapshots of people enjoying themselves (mostly without flash however). Might be used for something like a church scrapbook.

I wonder what kind of results I might get by handing my camera to someone and telling them to start shooting as I am usually too busy at these events to shoot pics myself. What other modes would anyone suggest for this situation?

David
Amateur is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 28, 2004, 1:19 PM   #2
NHL

Amateur wrote:
Quote:
Does it keep with a constant minimum shutter speed (eg. nothing slower than ##) or does it do whatever it takes to get max DOF no matter how slow the shutter? Is focal length a factor?
It does not keep the shutter constant!
The last time I tried this indoor it picked f/22 and 30" so yes the picture will be blurry from camera shake. From the 10D manual: "If the camera sets a slow shutter speed, hold the camera steady or use a tripod"

-> If you turn on the flash however it will set 1/60 as minimum all the time
With a more powerful external flash like the 550EX or EF500DG Super more peripheral AF points will lit up (than say the central AF point only when used with the built-in flash)