Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 12, 2004, 12:06 PM   #1

I have a new 20D. I am not a pro but do have to produce excellent quality 8X10, and some poster - size photos. Sometimes I have to do them enmass. At a homecoming event this last weekend, I had close to 500 photos to PS. My digital Rebel, D30, the family 10D are easy to off load to my card reader for review on and their X and Y resolution show up as 180 unless you are in the raw size. I do not have to interpolate to get excellent prints from these cameras.
Off-loading from the new D20, I was stunned to see the X and Y resolutions come up at 72. I re-read everything, then called Cannon and was told in a very condescending manner, that it doesn't matter what the resolution says, there are more pixels.
I understand that the sensor size is the same as the Rebel, etc., but the pixels ere made smaller so they could say the 20D is putting out 8mp. Reviews seem to feel this may be a handicap as smaller pixels shoved into the same space make for more noise. I do NOT want to have to put every photo into another program to interpolate it up to a 180 resolution. PPI being larger, notwithstanding, a photo from the 72 resolution size, shot at the highest non-raw setting looks like a photo shot at a 72 resoltuion. Not good enough for a print.
In order to get a good print, I had to up-size prior to doing the usualy PS. This makes my work a 2-step process which adds considerably to lengthy photo sessions. No one else seems to be concerned with this which is a very big problem for me. Have I missed something else you all see? Is there no way around this 2-step process?
thanks for any help.
omegaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 12, 2004, 1:10 PM   #2

Isnt JP(E)G allways 72 DPI?

As long as i know the jpeg format cant store DPI informations as most other (mainly lossless as Tiff) do.
Allanon is offline   Reply With Quote