Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 27, 2004, 2:16 PM   #1

Hi guys.

Im in the market for a digital SLR. At the moment I'n using a Sony F717 which I am very happy with but it is too limited for all the types of photography that I do.

As a designer I need something that will allow exceptional quality prints up to A0 (Printed on a Encad 880)

My problem is that I cant decide if I should buy just the Digital Rebel body with the standard lens & Sigma 70 - 300 Lens?

Or should I buy the body and a 28-200 lens?

I have a budget of about $1400 for Camera, Bag (Lowepro Nature Tracker AWII) and mem stick.

Thanks
Maxxis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 27, 2004, 4:03 PM   #2

hello Maxxis...

i'm saving up for the dRebel too...but...you might want to check out the thread

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=87

shows a way of using sears "price match plus" to get the rebel for under 600 dollars

(that's the with the kit lens)

then you can get a sigma 70-300mm APO lens for 200, 1 GB CF card (memory) for 100, your lowepro bag (200 bucks right?)

that leaves you 300 dollars....

of course...i saw in my Outdoor Photographer ads for the drebel for 400-500 dollars!

use that with the sears thing..and you got an incredible price!

oh yeah...check out a couple threads with people buying rebels...cuz Canon has a rebate going on now...100 dollars back...

hope this helps!

Vito
photosbyvito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2004, 4:42 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply. I'll try the sears price match. Would help a lot.

I'm from South Africa so the rebates unfortunately dont apply to me.

Cheers
Old Oct 27, 2004, 4:49 PM   #4

ahh...that stinks....

are there sears in south africa? i guess the price match will work online too..

btw...i wouldn't order from any of the stores that sell it that cheap...especially if they do business in brooklyn!

Vito