Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jan 30, 2005, 7:26 AM   #1

My digital rebel works perfectly in all other dummy modes and creative modes..but while in sport mode....it will not autofocus and the shutter stays open to long. It will shoot in continuous mode but all pics are blurred. Light conditions make no difference. Any Ideas? Thank God I have an extended warranty !!

dcox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 30, 2005, 7:42 AM   #2
NHL

In the 'Sport' mode the DRebel does not focus once and stop - it will try to focus all the time at wherever the camera is pointed (the AF indicators also stay off) in this mode!

Could it be that the shutter speeds are too slow for the actions? :idea:
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2005, 8:06 AM   #3

Yes .....It's hard for me to expalin what the problem really is as I am a novice. But yes the shutter speed is very slow and all the pics are blurry. The manual says "when focusing is achieved the beeper will sound softly" It does not do this anymore. I must of been mistaken about the AF indicator light. I could of sworn it use to light in sport mode....sorry.

Thank you for your guick reply to my last post.
Old Jan 30, 2005, 8:23 AM   #4
NHL

dcox wrote:
Quote:
... But yes the shutter speed is very slow and all the pics are blurry.
Are the pictures properly exposed though ???

Forget about the blurriness for a moment! :?
Old Jan 30, 2005, 8:38 AM   #5

Here is a screen capture of the 4 continuous pics in sport mode and EXIF info for one of them......I had to resize the capture, Hope you can view it clearly. Notice the Scene capture type.....it says STANDARD shouldn't this be SPORT? it changes appropiatly when I go to other modes.
Attached Images

Old Jan 30, 2005, 11:59 AM   #6
Administrator

It's a matter of light. The EXIF on one of the photos shows a shutter speed of 1/5 second with an Aperture of f/4.5 at ISO 400.