Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Feb 12, 2005, 1:01 PM   #1

First of all, let me say that I am new to DSLR, and I am not an expert - probably not even qualified to be called a beginner. However, I really enjoy taking pictures - mostly of my kids. I also enjoy taking pictures at high school basketball games and college gymnastics meets. Therefore, when I decide to purchase a DSLR, I decided to go with Canon 20D so that I would have the 5 fps and 8 MP (for cropping). Initially, I was very disappointed - because I didn't know enough to purchase a good lense to go with the 18-55 kit. So, I quickly began to do some research and decided the 85/1.8 was the best in quality/price for me. I really like the lens - although zoom would be nice. However, I am experiencing a phenomenon that I really dont understand - if I take 2-8 consecutive action shots the odd # photos have one "brightness" and the even #'s take on an entirely different "brightness". I am sure my terms are not correct, but maybe it's close enough. I am curious to know if anyone else has experienced this or if anyone has an explanation of what may be happening.

For illustration, the attachment is an overlay of 4 consecutive shots.
Attached Images

acrabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 12, 2005, 3:12 PM   #2

What are you using for flash? Most of what I've seen with different exposures on my 20D while taking rapid shots is flash related.

With a 580ex you should be able to get around 11-12 shots in a row with flash.

Some canon external flashes will fire even when not fully charged, so the flash exposure might not be as bright.

If you're using the internal flash of the 20D don't expect it to fire with each shot.
Proxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2005, 3:16 PM   #3

Actually, I am not using a flash. I am usually shooting ISO 1600; 1/500; f/~2 - 2.5.
Old Feb 12, 2005, 4:08 PM   #4