Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Mar 25, 2005, 10:11 AM   #1

:?

I am a newbie with not only my first DSLR camera but my first SLR camera period. So, needless to say I am not up on a lot of the jargon or know what it takes to take great pictures but I am ready and willing to learn. I previously owned a point and shoot Nikon Coolpix 995 (I still have it) which was OK for a few years but I was ready to "move up" in the world of photography. Not to mention a couple of friends of mine have 300Ds and I loved the quality of their pictures.

I have no intentions of becoming a professional photographer as it is more of a hobby for me, plus I take a lot of pictures for our local youth football and basketball programs for web sites. It was when I started putting the Rebel pictures from my friends on the web site that I started to realize how much my pictures needed upgraded.

This is my first post but I have spent a lot of time on this site reading up on cameras so I decided to purchase a 20D. By no means am I rich, but I am fortunate enough to be able to afford an expensive toy now and then so I ordered a 20 D last week. Unfortunately I did not have a lot of extra money for expensive lenses so I bought the camera with the kit lens and I bought, what I know to be a cheap lens, a Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 zoom lens to go with it. I also purchased two 1 gig compact flash cards so I would have plenty of memory to snap as much as I like.