Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Apr 7, 2005, 3:30 PM   #1

Hi. I'm about ready to invest in a 300d, but I do have one question. I am a TOTAL novice and will have to start out in auto until I start learning.

How much post-processing is necessary?

I mainly want the best possible pictures of my toddler in everyday indoor (fairly low light) and outdoor situations. However, I don't have a great deal of time to invest in post-processing (or in learning how to do it.)

The pros on this board are getting me a little worried. Am I getting in over my head here?
MistyR75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 7, 2005, 3:51 PM   #2

Well it matters on how good the picture is to start with.

I have found most day to day photos dont require much or any special post processing becuase it is just that a day to day photo, alas a special photo like a familt portrate or other major photo you may want to touch up.

One thing to consider before buying a DSLR is the cost to get the same len range on a P&S digital with manual controls.
VictorEM83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2005, 4:04 PM   #3

VictorEM83 wrote:
Quote:
One thing to consider before buying a DSLR is the cost to get the same len range on a P&S digital with manual controls.
And, in your opinion, can a good P&S (say a Panasonic FZ20 or even an Oly 8080) compete with therebel interms of image quality?

What I'm really aiming for here is really good pictures of my daughter.

Thanks for your reply.
MistyR75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2005, 4:30 PM   #4

What I am saying is if you went with a Panasonic FZ20 you get a F2.8 36 - 432 mm equiv. lens. to get that range on a DRebel at F2.8 you would be spending at lot of money you would need a 24-70mm F2.8 Lens that would cost around $500-$1200 a 70-200 mm F2.8 lens would cost about $800-$1200.
Old Apr 7, 2005, 5:17 PM   #5