Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Apr 7, 2005, 8:03 PM   #1

I am new to photoshop, and I think USM is one of the most important processing tools to use in conjunction with pics taken with probably any dslr, esp. the 20D. I am not good at all of those #s and was just wondering what people are setting the different paramaters to, and if they have a standard, or if they sharpen each image separately to different parameters. Either way, can someone give me some advice as to what to set (amount, radius and threshold), I would appreciate it.
Nancy Gabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 7, 2005, 8:32 PM   #2

Hi Nancy,

Canon recommends starting with Amount=300%, Radius=0.3 pixels, Threshold=0, which I have found to be good formost of my shots. The following might help:

http://www.photoworkshop.com/canon/EOS_Digital.pdf

Page 30 has a section on sharpening.

Regards,

Bob
BobA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2005, 10:57 PM   #3

Thank you so much, Bob! You have been a big help, my settings were totally off, which was obvious by the way my pics look, I am going to download the pdf file now.

One other question: If I want more or less sharpening, do I just change the amount? And if that is correct, when would I change the radius, and the threshold?
Old Apr 7, 2005, 11:38 PM   #4

Some others that have more experience may speak up, but I have only increased of decreased sharpening by changing radius. I also have a copy of Focus Magic that I play around with ... but I keep going back to the starting USM values provided by Canon.

Bob
BobA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2005, 12:14 AM   #5
Super Moderator

nancy,