Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Apr 27, 2005, 9:01 PM   #1

Hi,I'm kind of new here... i've been browsing for the past couple months, enjoying different photos posted by you guys andI recently decided to purchase the Rebel XT( as soon as my horse sold,then i'd have some money)after doing alot of research on different DSLR's over the past few months. Anyways, yesterday was my birthday andI had a major suprise, my sister put together a bunch of friends to go in on the XT as my birthday present. SoI got it yesterday and i'm psysched.

So nowI had a couple questions for you guys because i'm new to DSLR's and fairly new to photography in general, althoughI have had an olderfilm olympus which stopped working recently. I went ahead and got the kit lens because I think it will be a good lens to start out with, i'm looking at purchasing the Canon50mm f1.8 lens, and then hopefully in the near futurethe Sigma 70-200 f2.8, and the 1.4x adapter. I've heard people talk alot about UV filters to protect your lenses from dust? Is that somethingI should purchase before I shoot to many pictures? and also i hear about fast writing speeds on memory cards, how do you tellhow fast or slow amemory card is? and does that effect the time periodin between the shots because it needs time to write the picture onto the disk before it can take another one?

and is there anything else right off that i need to get before i start shooting? what about cleaning the XT, what kind of care is involved?

okay well i'm sure i'll think of some more questions, but thats all for now,thanks for letting me ramble...

- Ariel
ATX202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 27, 2005, 9:46 PM   #2

Ariel,

Well, your likely to get more opinions than mine, but here goes:

- You're lens selection sounds pretty spot on.