Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 2, 2005, 12:24 PM   #1

Hi, I have the 20D and usually just transfer all my images off the card using a CF card reader and Windows Explorer.

Yesterday a friend of mine saved some images on his laptop, and he has a copy of Zoombrowser that he got with his Canon digicam. It was slow, but it autorotated all of the vertical shots. I do event photography, and this would save me a lot of time if I could do this on my computer, because I currently have over 1000 images to deal with. (Yes, I'm new at this.)

I looked thru the software that came with my 20D, and installed it, but alas, the file transfer methodseems exactly like the method I've already been using. The Canon software recognizes the rotation, but the file hasn't actually been rotated. AND, I still have to deal with the CF card file setup.

Am I missing something here? Help! Does Canon provide a download of the most recent version of Zoombrowser? If they do, I can't find it. Does the rotation feature of ZB alter the file at all? I can't see that it does, but I might be missing something.

Thanks!

Kristine

p.s. I like my new 20D a lot! It's an upgrade from the Rebel, and it's spiffy.
xena45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 2, 2005, 11:24 PM   #2

Hi Kristine,

Check the setting on the camera itself (Menu button). In the yellow (orange?)selection there is one called "Auto rotate" which you need to turn to "on".

Bob
BobA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2005, 10:29 AM   #3

Yes, I've checked that. Auto rotate is turned on. I installed ZoomBrowser; I'll just use that until I find something better. Thanks.

K
Old May 5, 2005, 11:58 AM   #4