Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 3, 2005, 1:29 AM   #1

Hey guys, I'm new to DSLR but nonetheless I'm at a level where I kind of know what I'm doing now.I just can't figure this one thing out, I set my 20D under M to Quality RAW + L (RAW + Large/Fine). My understanding was that I should end up with two files: Filename.JPG & Filename.RC2. Instead I get two files with the exact filename and JPG extension i.e.: Filename.JPG (two of them). How is this possible and how can the camera store two separate files with the same names on the same card?!?

BTW anyone run into issues with the AF system on the 20D? I can't get it to focus the whole picture. I'm always getting blurred areas in my pictures. Is that just a part of the 20D Auto Focus algorithm? My Rebel XT never did that, what ever I pointed at I got asharp picture even at the otherAF points.

Have a look at the picture below. When I focus the top portion of the page the bottom gets blurred and vice versa. I just want the whole page to be nice and sharp. I took this picture with my 20D and the EFS 18-55mm kit lens (Nothing fancy).

Any help would be a blessing.
Attached Images

Fragger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 3, 2005, 2:18 AM   #2
Super Moderator

the problem is not your af... its that you are using a wide open aperature which is giving you a shallow depth of field (area of focus)... try using a smaller aperature (i.e. larger number) and taking the same picture, you will see that more of the page is in focus... do keep in mind as your aperature becomes smaller, your shutter speeds get longer and could cause blur if they get too long.. hence, when trying to maximize depth of field, macro photographers almost always need a tripod to get sharp results..
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2005, 2:23 AM   #3
Super Moderator

take a look at these...

http://www.photoxels.com/tutorial_dof.html