Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 6, 2005, 2:37 PM   #1

Here is the setting: A darkened auditorium photographing musicians on a spotlight lit stage. The back drop will possibly be black (or horror of horrors: orange) and the majority of the musicians will be dressed in black!

So my first XT setting's I'll try will be: P(program mode), with a white balance of Tungsten and an ISO of 800. (using the EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II lens.)

Anyone with a better suggestion?

Mark

mrcoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 6, 2005, 11:20 PM   #2

I'm new to this myself but had a very similar experience photographing an orchestra performing in a school gymnasium just the other day. A couple of things helped that you may be aware of already. I shot in RAW formatusing a tripod. After shootingI used the Canon RAW processing software (Click RAW button) and a Colorchecker chart to remove the orange created by the tungsten lights. There was some blur due to the slow shutter speed (couldn't use a flash) in many of the photos, but I got enough clear ones. I could have used a higher quality lens, perhaps a 70-200 F2.8 would have helped with the blur?

//jim

killdeer0007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2005, 8:09 AM   #3

Jim, thanks for the suggestions, I'll have to try that. I have not experimented with Raw as yet. I think my first thing to try is to get a faster lens, a F2.8 like you said. I am downloading my photos now so I am not sure how I did as yet. Filled a 1gb card so surely I have something worth keeping!!:lol:

Mark
mrcoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2005, 10:08 AM   #4

Shooting in RAW was one of the the main reasons I bought the XT. If you want, I could send you sample sample clips in jpeg and RAW converted to jpeg.

//jim
Old May 7, 2005, 1:14 PM   #5

I would push the ISO up to the max 1600.

Then I would set aperature mode and set the aperture wide open.