Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 10, 2005, 8:47 AM   #1

:?I am at the point of replacing my digital rebel. I'meager to move up to something better? I want to stay with Canon. Does anyone haveany negative or positive experienceswith the Canon 20D?I can also afford a new lens (under $800) I will be using it for studio portraits.

Many thanks in advance.
ventiftaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 29, 2005, 4:16 PM   #2

I can't believe there are no replies to this thread. Perhaps it should be moved to the DSLR page. I've had a 20D for about 3 months and like it a lot. I researched everywhere and nothing compared to it for the money, in any of the reviews. I bought the Canon EOS 28-135 IS lense with it and have gotten very nice results with it, macro, landscape, weddings, famly events...anything. I'm still learning it but a good friend (pro photographer)who owns 2 10D's borrowed mine for a few hours one afternoon and he REALLY liked the camera. There are so many good features, it's hard to beat and nearly in the samein many featuresas the much higher priced Canon DSLR's. I don't think you'll be sorry if you get one.
Old May 29, 2005, 4:42 PM   #3

The 20D is an excellent camera. It does have a few quirks like all the others, but overall is probably your best bet, especially if you are moving from the Rebel. I have the 17-85 IS lens and very happy with it, though there are some who have issues with sharpness. I just haven't seen it... The two problems that bother me most is that the ISO setting does not stay displayed on the lcd, so you can sometimes forget and do some shooting on an ISO that you didn't really want. The other is lack of "real" spot metering. Other than those and a slight underexposure of the flash metering, it is a super camera.

H
bigboyhf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2005, 10:15 PM   #4