Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 10, 2005, 3:04 PM   #1

Hi all,

I'm new here, and this is my first post. Two days ago I decided to move on from point and shoot camera (Fuji S5000) to DSLR and I was pretty much down to two cameras 300D and 350D XT. I finally decided to purchase the 300D over the 350D, have I made a mistake? I know the 350 is a faster camera, less noise in higher ISO, fast start up time, larger buffer etc

I figured I am new to DSLR and given that the 300D is priced at the right range, I decided to go with 300D. I have the optionto cancel this soshould I change my mind? I ordered 300D with kit lens and Canon 50mm f1.8 lens for $782 all together instead of $900 for a rebel XT only with no additional lens

I like taking pictures of scenery when I go out on a trip as well as occasional race cars when I go to any race events. Do you think the 300D with a good macro lense has what it takes to capture race cars going down the track? My Fuji was quite pathetic when it comes to taking pictures of race cars, but for scenery its beautiful.

Any comments from 300D owners are appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Casey
rally123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 10, 2005, 10:05 PM   #2
djb

Casey, i don't own the 300D, i have a 20D, but, it should be fine for landscapes as well as race cars. What you want for race cars is not a macro lens but, a telephoto lense. Either 300d or 350xt should be fine for what you want to do. But, the 300d/350xt users could help you more than I.

dennis
djb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2005, 10:18 PM   #3

rally123 wrote:
Quote:
Ifinally decided to purchase the 300D over the 350D, have I made a mistake?
To each his (or her) own.

I just made the same jump and went with the XT. I know for a fact that the 300D can take really great pictures and if you look around this forum you'll see plenty of them.